Light’s Out

I’ve often said I’m not the brightest bulb in the box. I have good intentions, though. (I do hope that counts for something.)

So, I’m working on various and sundry home projects. Among them is our laundry room remodel. It’s been a family affair, really. Extended family. Thanks to them, the hardest work is done. And now I’m chipping away at what remains.

Like wiring in new outlets. That was last week’s job. And it was quite satisfying to see an operable, shiny new outlet where a hole and wires had once been. Also on the to-do list was wiring in the switch for the light above the shower.

Here it is, folks.

Here it is, folks.

Now I don’t have a lot of electrical experience, but this was a no-brainer. Easy-peasy. I wired that baby in, powered her up and SHAZAAM!

Light’s on!

Light’s flickering…

Light’s off.

Light’s off? What? Aw, shoot!

I’d had this same problem when I replaced a ceiling fan with a pendant light in our not-quite-a-hallway-space. The fan had three blades. Originally there were four. That fourth blade made a run for it one hot summer night, and thankfully, none of us tried to stop it. Poor thing hasn’t been the same since.

The pendant light was a learning experience in itself. (Especially since I decided to make it a secret project while Prince Charming was out of town.) But eventually it came on beautifully. And then it didn’t. (sigh) Our electrician friend assured me my house was not going to burn down, and the problem was my connections. He was right on both accounts.

So when the shower light would not come on, I knew what to do. I’m sure I had a swagger in my step as I made my way to the circuit breaker to switch off the power. Hey, I got this. Off came the plate. Out came the switch. Off with the tape. And…. everything  looked fine. But I removed the wires, checked the connections, replaced the wires, flipped on the power and checked to see if it worked. Nothing. I went through this process three times. Let me mention that our circuit panel is downstairs in a corner of our gauntlet we call The Basement. Our laundry room, however, is not.

By this time, Princess here, was NOT happy. What was I doing wrong? My little electrical universe was falling apart. I was at a loss. Devastation ensued.

Then I replaced the light bulb.

Yup.

Yup.

(ahem)

The lesson here is the next time you hear one of those “how many what-evers does it take to change a light bulb”, give them some credit for even thinking to do it.

~m

2 comments

  1. Melinda · · Reply

    Love this! And how true for us all? Too many times I find myself looking deep for answers and solutions when the simple answer was right in front of me the whole time.
    On the up side, you’ll always know the wiring for that fixture is RIGHT ON! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh isn’t that the truth? I’m convinced complicating simple thing is my superpower. 🙂 And you’re right – I feel pretty good about the wiring on that switch!

      Like

Leave a Reply

