Eden Indoors

Inspiration Junkies! I need me a fix! You too?

Window plants

When I woke this morning, it was 4 degrees (Fahrenheit). I opened the drapes to let in the sunlight. It was blinding! My yard is buried in more than two feet of snow. Bright sunshine bounces off the brilliant white layer and fills each room with light. It’s beautiful.

indoor garden

By this time every year, gardening and seed catalogs have arrived. Stores are setting up their spring displays. We’re hearing of warming weather in the southern parts of the country. Yet here in the upper midwest, winter hangs on.

greenhouse <3

I have 35 houseplants. I adore them all, especially now. My spath and anthurium are nearly blooming, thanks to longer days. There’s something about being surrounded by life, in the shelter of your home, while everything outside is bleak and frozen.

indoor plants

I’d love to have plants in every room of the house. Not simply a snake plant in the corner, or a pothos on the shelf. Rather, my goal is to integrate them cleverly into my home’s decor.

cage of succulents

When I want ideas, or just need to see something beautiful, Pinterest is my dealer of choice. In fact, my indoor plant board is my largest.

tetsu hiraga

Our 60’s ranch-style home with leaky windows won’t accommodate my vision for an indoor jungle.

Then again, neither would my husband.

,

I’m working on it.

Maybe one day, I’ll have beautiful pictures of my own to post.

I hope this little collection has brought you some virtual fresh air. (Please note, none of these are my photos.) Enjoy the sunshine, friends, wherever you may be. Spring’s coming!

~m

2 comments

  1. Andrea R Huelsenbeck · · Reply

    Lovely! Thank you for sharing these pictures. They brightened my day. I love looking at plants and being surrounded by them. Unfortunately, I have a black thumb. But I do have a snake plant which I’ve maintained for about a year (I admit I bought it because they are notoriously hard to kill), and the Norfolk pine we bought as a Christmas tree is still looking pretty good. I also like to have lots of cut flowers in my kitchen. I can’t grow them, though. I love your tagline, by the way.

    Like

    1. Oh thank you! I dream of having a norfolk pine. I killed my first snake plant. 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed the photos!

      Like

Leave a Reply

